Your 24/7 Music News Magazine

Nothing But Thieves Announce New Album ‘Moral Panic’

Nothing But Thieves have unveiled brand new single ‘Real Love Song’, lifted from their forthcoming album ‘Moral Panic’, due out on 23 October 2020.

The track, produced by Mike Crossey, premiered exclusively as Annie Mac’s Hottest Record in the World on Radio 1 and is the follow-up to recent single ‘Is Everybody Going Crazy?’. The songs are the band’s first new music since their 2018 EP ‘What Did You Think When You Made Me This Way’.

Nothing But Thieves commented, “An interviewer in Kuala Lumpur asked us why we don’t have a huge amount of songs about relationships or love. We hadn’t really thought about it before. The answer was that songs like that have been done to death and they rarely capture what love is actually like for most. Songs tend to be idealistic or Hollywood. Real Love Song was an attempt to write a song about love from a self-aware perspective. It’s about the darker side of love – the painful, unrequited kind. It’s love lost or love never gained. Thank you to that interviewer from Malaysia – without you, this song would never exist.”


The alt rockers have amassed over 700,000 album sales and 750 million streams to date. After dropping their self-titled debut album in 2015, their acclaimed album ‘Broken Machine’ landed in 2017 and went on to reach the No.2 spot on the UK Album Chart. Their ‘What Did You Think When You Made Me This Way’ EP followed in 2018.

Throughout lockdown the band have been performing their songs as part of their Solitude Sessions and via frontman Conor’s stripped-back Sun Sessions. They also released a special collaborative version of single ‘Sorry’, featuring 150 videos of fans performing the song alongside the band.


Nothing But Thieves are Conor Mason, Joe Langridge-Brown, Dominic Craik, Philip Blake and James Price.

Comments and views


This web site uses Google Analytics, which collects anonymous visitor information to help us keep the site relevant and up to date. To do this it sets 'cookies', small text files on your computer.