tom morello

Tom Morello has announced new album ‘The Atlas Underground Fire’, due out on 15 October 2021.

The release will be the official follow-up to his ambitious 2018 full-length ‘The Atlas Underground’.

The two-time Grammy Award-winning musician’s legendary guitar playing will fuse rock, alternative and electronic together, with an impressive list of acclaimed collaborations with the likes of Bring Me The Horizon, phem, Damian Marley, Sama’ Abdulhadi, Mike Posner and more.

The co-founder of Rage Against The Machine, Audioslave and Prophets of Rage has also revealed the album’s first single ‘Highway To Hell’. The cover of AC/DC’s rock classic features Morello alongside Bruce Springsteen and Eddie Vedder.

He commented, “Our version of ‘Highway To Hell’ pays homage to AC/DC but with Bruce Springsteen and Eddie Vedder, bringing this legendary song into the future. One of the greatest rock ’n’ roll songs of all time sung by two of the greatest rock ’n’ roll singers of all time. And then I drop a shredding guitar solo. Thank you and good night.”


‘The Atlas Underground Fire’ was made both creatively and technically from his LA home studio, recording guitars on his phone and sharing files with collaborators around the globe. And despite the challenges of creating the album during the pandemic, Morello revealed that it also allowed him more creative freedom.

He said, “This record was a life raft in a difficult time that allowed me to find new ways of creating new global artistic connections that helped transform a time of fear and anxiety into one of musical expression and rocking jams.”

Tom Morello ‘The Atlas Underground Fire’ Full Album Tracklisting:

Harlem Hellfighter
Highway to Hell (featuring Bruce Springsteen and Eddie Vedder)
Let’s Get The Party Started (featuring Bring Me The Horizon)
Driving to Texas (featuring Phantogram)
The War Inside (featuring Chris Stapleton)
Hold The Line (featuring grandson)
Naraka (featuring Mike Posner)
The Achilles List (featuring Damian Marley)
Night Witch (featuring phem)
Charmed I’m Sure (featuring Protohype)
Save Our Souls (featuring Dennis Lyxzén of Refused)
On The Shore Of Eternity (featuring Sama’ Abdulhadi)

Image Credit: Travis Shinn