soft cell

Soft Cell have announced their first new album in 20 years entitled ‘*Happiness Not Included’, due out on 25 February 2022.

The record will be the official follow-up to 2002s ‘Cruelty Without Beauty’, which was their last full-length release of original material.

The English synth-pop duo consisting of frontman Marc Almond and producer/instrumentalist David Ball went on to unveil two new tracks in 2018. ‘Northern Lights’ and ‘Guilty (‘Cos I Say You Are)’ both featured on their compilation release ‘The Singles – Keychains & Snowstorms’ alongside a selection of their biggest hits.

Almond discussed the upcoming LP in a press release saying, “In this album I wanted to look at us as a society: a place where we have chosen to put profits before people, money before morality and decency, food before the rights of animals, fanaticism before fairness and our own trivial comforts before the unspeakable agonies of others. But in the album there is also a belief that there is a utopia if we can peel back the layers and understand what really matters.”

Ball added, “Recorded remotely during a world pandemic. Science fiction stories for the 21st century.” 

Soft Cell have also confirmed that they will be hitting the road later this year on a short tour to preview tracks from their forthcoming album alongside their greatest hits. They will also perform their seminal 1981 debut album ‘Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret’ in full for the first time.

Soft Cell November 2021 UK Tour Dates:

Glasgow O2 Academy, 10 Nov
Manchester O2 Apollo, 12
Leeds O2 Academy, 13
London Eventim Apollo, 15
London Eventim Apollo, 16

Tickets on sale Friday (06 August) at 10am from Gigantic Eventim AXS Ticketmaster See Tickets

Soft Cell ‘*Happiness Not Included’ Full Album Tracklisting:

Happy Happy Happy
Bruises on My Illusions
Purple Zone
Heart Like Chernobyl
Light Sleepers
*Happiness Not Included
Nostalgia Machine
I’m Not a Friend of God
New Eden

Photo Credit: Andrew Whitton