big thief

Big Thief have shared two brand new tracks, ‘Little Things’ and ‘Sparrow’.

‘Little Things’ was recorded with Shawn Everett at Five Star Studios in Topanga, California, whilst ‘Sparrow’ was recorded with Sam Evian at Flying Cloud Recordings in the Catskills.

Both songs were produced by Big Thief drummer James Krivchenia and is the band’s first new material since their critically-acclaimed 2019 album ‘Two Hands’.


Krivchenia commented on the track saying, “It’s in this sort of evolving free time signature where the beat is always changing…so Max [Oleartchik, bassist] and I were just flowing with it and guessing where the downbeats were – which gives the groove a really cool light feeling.”


Discussing ‘Sparrow’ Krivchenia said, “We all just scattered about the room without headphones, focused and in the music – you could feel that something special was happening…It was a funny instrumentation that had a really cool natural arrangement chemistry – Max on piano, Buck [Meek, guitarist/vocalist] providing this dark ambience, me on floor tom and snare and Adrianne in the middle of it with the acoustic and singing.”

The four-piece will head out on tour next year, with UK & Ireland dates scheduled for February 2022 – more details here:

Manchester Academy 1, 24 Feb
Glasgow Barrowland, 25
Dublin National Stadium, 26
Bristol O2 Academy, 27
London O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire, 02 March
London O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire, 03
London O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire, 04

Tickets on sale now from Gigantic Eventim Ticketmaster Ticketweb See Tickets

Big Thief is Adrianne Lenker, Buck Meek, James Krivchenia and Max Oleartchik.

Photo Credit: Josh Goleman